The Aporo and La’ulu families purchase two W6 ‘Bladerunners’ from Australia, instead of the New Zealand-built Moana Nui W6 ‘1990’ due to the long waiting list. Upon arrival both canoes are blessed by Ngati Toa Kaumatua Ihakara Arthur.

The Aporo and La’ulu families establish Mana Pasifika Outrigger Canoe Club. Co-founder Metua Aporo becomes the first President of the club.

Mana means ‘the Island, the location, or respect’, Pasifika means ‘the Pacific’. The Mana Pasifika emblem was designed by local artist Brian Gunson.  The Maroro (flying fish) incorporates the fish (being the canoe) with three men and three women paddlers with Mana Island and the Pacific Ocean.

In its first year the club grows to 22 teams, with 18 teams going to the National Sprints the following year.

Mana Pasifika OCC becomes a formal legal entity: an incorporated society

Louisa Aporo (one of the founders of the club) becomes a double gold medallist in the Open Women W6 at the World Championships in Borabora, Tahiti. (Louisa was paddling for Australia as Louisa and Metua Aporo had moved to Australia in late 2001.)

The two Bladerunners are sold to an outrigger canoe club in Rarotonga in the Cook Islands. That same year the club purchases a new Moana Nui W6 ‘Mahi Mahi’, named Te Mana Nui Kupe.

That same year a team from Mana Pasifika OCC, in ‘Te Mana Nui Kupe’, is one of only two teams that complete the marathon crossing from the South Island (Picton) to the North Island (Mana). The crossing takes 8 hours 56 minutes.

At the World Sprint Champs at Laka Karapiro in New Zealand, Mandy Hatton becomes a world champion in the W1 Master Women division.

At the World Sprint Champs in New Caledonia, Grant Barribal becomes a world champion in the W1 Masters division.